Hawkwind – Roadhawks


Hawkwind are a great musical institution, hugely influential, and of course, Hawkwind gave the world Lemmy. Without Lemmy, we would not have Motorhead, and our beloved heavy metal would sound like Poison!

So, Roadhawks was originally compiled by Hawkwind mainstay Dave Brock (a kind of psychedelic Catweasel!) from Hawkwind’s United Artists albums. It was, of course, selected for a single vinyl album, and so only features eight tracks, but they are eight marvellous tracks.

Of greatest joy for me to hear is the legendary Silver Machine with Lemmy on vocals. I note, this album was compiled shortly after Lemmy had been sacked for doing “the wrong drugs”. (Being sacked from Hawkwind for taking drugs is too ironic for words, it’s like being sacked as a sumo wrestler for being fat).

I note that in the original sleeve notes, Lemmy is not thanked, though Michael Moorcock is. 

Atomhenge’s reissue has a lovely mini-poster of the album art by the legendary Barney Bubbles (possibly not his real name).

Opening track Hurry On Sundown is a happy song, all about looking forward to the future, something we all need now in our lock down “existence”. (I note as I write this towards the end of April that fatigue is setting in with people, virtual friendships it appears are not real ones).

So, as an antidote, crank up Roadhawks, and enter Hawkwind’s world, where everything is for the best in the best of all possible worlds.

Atomhenge Records

Ten out of Ten

Reviewed by Steve Earles

Steve Earles is author and co-author of numerous projects, including To End All Wars: The WWI Graphic Anthology, available summer 2014 (http://toendallwarscomic.wordpress.com/writers/).

10.0 Rating