Honourable mentions of 2017

We at Hellbound are nearly ready to weigh in on the best metal releases of 2017 with our collective top ten, as voted by the contributors. Before we share this overall ‘best of’ list, we present to you, our readers, a long list of honourable mentions. Our annual top ten, like our best Canadian list, indicates where staff tastes intersect. But our interests and proclivities vary, encompassing so much more than a list of ten albums can reflect. For that reason we have compiled a slightly longer list of heavy releases that have won approval from someone on the Hellbound team without making it to the final ‘best of’ tally.

Stay tuned for the official top ten, our individual lists, and our Canadian metal year-end coverage.

Metal releases from the year-end Honourable Mentions category:

Artificial Brain – Infrared Horizon (Profound Lore) hellbound.ca/2017/05/artificial-brain-infrared-horizon

Ascended Dead – Abhorrent Manifestation (Invictus)

Biblical – The City That Always Sleeps (Tee Pee/New Damage) hellbound.ca/2017/08/biblical-city-always-sleeps

Bison – You Are Not the Ocean, You Are the Patient (Pelagic) hellbound.ca/2017/06/bison-not-ocean-patient

Blut Aus Nord – Deus Salutis Meae (Debemur Morti)

Body Count – Bloodlust (Century Media) soundcloud.com/body-count-official

Cannibal Corpse – Red Before Black (Metal Blade) hellbound.ca/2017/10/cannibal-corpse-red-black

Couch Slut – Contempt (Gilead)

Cradle Of Filth – Cryptoriana: The Seductiveness Of Decay (Nuclear Blast) hellbound.ca/2017/09/cradle-filth-cyptoriana-seductiveness-decay

Dead Quiet – Grand Rites (Artoffact) hellbound.ca/2017/10/dead-quiet-grand-rites

Demon Eye – Prophecies and Lies (Soulseller) hellbound.ca/2017/08/demon-eye-prophecies-lies

Ether – There Is Nothing Left For Me Here (Dead Truth/Southern Druid) hellbound.ca/2017/06/ether-nothing-left

Exhumed – Death Revenge (Relapse) hellbound.ca/2017/10/exhumed-death-revenge

Godflesh – Post Self (Avalanche)

Hellripper – Coagulating Darkness (Barbarian Wrath)

Immolation – Atonement (Nuclear Blast) soundcloud.com/immolation-official/sets/atonement-7

Iron Mountain – Unum (Prophecy)

Moonlight Desires – Just the Hits: 1981-1985 (Infamous Butcher)

Morbid Angel – Kingdoms Disdained (Silver Linings) soundcloud.com/morbid-angel-official/sets/kingdoms-disdained

Myrkur – Mareridt (Relapse)

Olde – Temple (Medusa Crush) hellbound.ca/2017/07/olde-temple

Oranssi Pazuzu – Kevät / Värimyrsky (20 Buck Spin)

Paradise Lost – Medusa (Nuclear Blast) soundcloud.com/paradise-lost-official/sets/medusa-16

Royal Thunder – Wick (Spinefarm) soundcloud.com/royalthunderofficial/sets/wick-3

Satyricon – Deep Calleth Upon Deep (Napalm)

Six Feet Under – Torment (Metal Blade)

Ulver – The Assassination of Julius Caesar (House of Mythology)

Venenum – Trance of Death (Sepulchral Voice)


List contributors: Adrien Begrand, Steve Earles, Elena Francis, Gene Gaona, Jay Gorania, Gruesome Greg, Danielle Griscti, Kyle Harcott, Matt Hinch, Renee Trotier, Laura Wiebe, Adam Wills

Laura Wiebe

Laura is managing editor of Hellbound.ca and co-host of weekly metal show Kill Eat Exploit the Weak on CFMU 93.3 FM. She believes in equality and social justice and is not cool with any form of discrimination, marginalization, harassment or hate.